LA28 Introduces

Athletes’ Commission

LA28 has announced the LA28 Athletes’ Commission to bring a collection of elite athlete voices to shape the Summer Games in Los Angeles.


Comprised of nine Paralympians and nine Olympians, the Commission will bring essential insights and perspectives to create an inclusive, innovative and seamless experience for all athletes participating in the LA28 Games.


“The LA28 Athletes’ Commission represents the many cultures and perspectives that make up our Los Angeles community,” said Janet Evans, LA28 Chief Athlete Officer and five-time Olympic medalist. “We’re thrilled to launch our Athletes’ Commission with eighteen phenomenal Olympians and Paralympians who will undoubtedly broaden our understanding of how to make the LA28 Games amazing for all communities.” 


The LA28 Athletes’ Commission will be chaired by Olympian Janet Evans and includes Olympians Allyson Felix, Queen Harrison, Nastia Liukin, Ibtihaj Muhammad, Apolo Ohno, Adam Rippon, Alex Shibutani, Howard Shu and Brenda Villa and Paralympians Scout Bassett, Samantha Bosco, Allison Compton, Lex Gillette, Alana Nichols, Ileana Rodriguez, Rico Roman, Oscar “Oz” Sanchez and Ahkeel Whitehead.


The Commission members will serve as strategic advisors to expand upon athlete services and experiences ahead of the LA28 Games.


“In my role with the LA28 Athletes’ Commission, I hope to inspire and engage the next generation of athletes playing adaptive sport to show we all deserve a seat at the table,” said Paralympian and LA28 Athletes’ Commission member Scout Bassett.